GARHWA - District at a Glance

The erstwhile Garhwa Subdivision of Palamau district consisting of 8 Blocks was separated from Palamau district as an independent district “Garhwa” with effect from 1st April 1991. The district is surrounded by river Sone in the north; Palamau district and area of Chhatisgarh in the south; Palamau district in the east and Sarguja district of Chhatisgarh and Sonebhadra district of U.P. in the west.

Garhwa district is a part of Palamau Commissionery consisting of 14 blocks and two subdivisions namely Garhwa& Nagar-Untrai. At the time of creation of new district Garhwa, there were eight old blocks namely - Garhwa, Meral, Ranka, Bhandariya, Majhiyaon, Nagar-Untrai, Bhawanathpur, and Dhurki. Later on 6 new blocks were created from old blocks on administrative ground namely: Dandai, Chiniya, Kharoundhi, Ramna, Ramkanda and Kandi.

Later on 5 new blocks were created from old 14 blocks on administrative ground namely Danda, Ketar, Bishunpura, Bardiha and Sagma.

So presently there are 19 blocks in Garhwa district. There are 196 Gram Panchayats. 916 inhabited villages and 62 un-habited (Bechiragi) villages in this district. This district has two police sub-division named Garhwa and Nagar-Untrai. The district contains only one Municipal town at Garhwa head quarter.


SL Designation Name of Candidate email Contact No.
1 Executive Engineer Mr Radhey Shyam Ravi 9631269807
2 Project Manager and HRD Prabhat Kumar 8002529216
3 Environment & Water Quality Specialist Mr. Hemant Kumar Mishra 9431339279
4 Procurement Specialist Anis Kumar Sinha 9931857772
5 M&E and MIS Specialist Mr. Tushar Kanta Panigrahi 9439973837
6 Finance Specialist Dilip Kumar 7870273672